Lent at Ephesus (CD)

Item #3896
Shipping Wt. 0.50 lbs.
Availability: In Stock

From the Benedictines of Mary,
Queen of Apostles

The critically acclaimed (and classical chart-topping) Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles share a beautiful part of their everyday monastic life with this compilation of Lenten music: poignant chants, intricate harmonies and rousing hymns of glory and redemption. Included are "O Sacred Head Surrounded," made famous by Bach's oratorios; "All Glory Laud and Honor"; the well-known "Adoramus Te Christe"; the entrancing "Improperia" from the liturgy of Good Friday; and three original pieces by the sisters. The vibrant purity of their monastic sound will peacefully escort you through the penitential season of Lent.

The album features a 12-page booklet with original artwork and all the lyrics in English (Latin songs are translated into English, as well).

17 selections
Total time 78:43

For a track list and audio samples (using your Windows Media Player), select the MORE PRODUCT INFO tab below.

Priory of Our Lady of Ephesus: Gower, Missouri

The community of the Benedictines of Mary, Queen of Apostles first began in 1995, consecrated to Our Lady, and offered to her service. The sisters follow a monastic horarium as laid out by St. Benedict in his Rule, and chant (in Latin) the Divine Office according to the 1962 Breviarium Monasticum.

The sisters follow their call to emulate Mary in her final, hidden years at Ephesus, where, by tradition, she spiritually supported and encouraged St. John and the other Apostles. They offer their lives in prayer and sacrifice for priests, whom they see as the new apostles of the Church, and as their spiritual sons, who bear God's truth to the world. They extend customary Benedictine hospitality most especially to priests, offering them the spiritual refurbishment so often denied them in their work.

Their monastic "labora" — other than their everyday domestic responsibilities (cleaning, cooking, gardening, farm work, etc.) — is devoted to making vestments, albs, surplices, and altar linens for use in the Sacrifice of the Mass.

Track Listing:

1. Jesus, My Love (SAMPLE)
2. Christus Factus Est (SAMPLE)
3. God of Mercy and Compassion (SAMPLE)
4. Hosanna To the Son Of David (SAMPLE)
5. Jesu Dulcis Amor Meus
6. Jesu Salvator Mundi
7. Improperia
8. On the Way of the Cross
9. Pueri Hebræorum
10. O Sacred Head Surrounded
11. Adoramus Te Christe (Ravanello)
12. Stabat Mater
13. Divine Physician
14. Vexilla Regis
15. Mother of Sorrows
16. Vere Languores Nostros
17. Tenebræ factæ sunt
18. O Come and Mourn
19. Adoramus Te Christe (Dubois)
20. Crux Fidelis
21. All Glory, Laud and Honor
22. Ave Regina Cælorum
23. My Mercy
Write a Review


1 review

Spiritually uplifting CD
Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Review star icon Apr 3, 2016  |  By William N.
This CD will get you into the season of Lent. I also used the music as a musical meditation guide while viewing picture's of the station of the cross. A must CD to enhance your seasonal experience of Lent and can be used on Fridays during the year to recall Christ's suffering and death.
William N.